Washington Mystics win first WNBA Title

Washington Mystics 2019 WNBA Champions photo via Twitter
The Washington Mystics are WNBA champions.

Washington won their first WNBA championship in their 21 year history, beating the Connecticut Sun 89-78 in Game 5 of the finals at Entertainment and Sports Arena.

Emma Meessman, who scored 22 points on 9-13 shooting, took home Finals MVP.

Connecticut led at the end of the third quarter, 64-62. In the end, Washington showed a stronger offense and had a solid fourth quarter, outscoring the Sun 27-14.
The league MVP, Elena Delle Donne had 21 points on 8-16 shooting.
Washington coach, Mike Thibaul is the most winningest coach in WNBA  history. This was his fourth trip to the WNBA Finals.
“I want to thank these fans who have come and embraced us in this building and made this the best place to play in the WNBA,” said Thibaul. In addition, he said “The first day of training camp they had to suffer through me showing them the last few minutes of losing last year and it motivated us to be better everyday.”
The Mystics made history on their home turf. Washington, D.C. has a parade to plan.