ABC, CBS, ESPN, ESPN2 to Highlight 10 Games Throughout Pride Month

NEW YORK, June 1, 2021 –  In observance of WNBA Pride presented by Deloitte, the WNBA will promote initiatives that advocate for, support and celebrate the LGBTQ+ community and its allies throughout the month of June, and will continue throughout the year with league and team initiatives and events.


The WNBA/WNBPA Social Justice Council has identified three key priorities for The Justice Movement, the league’s social justice platform, to focus on during the WNBA’s historic 25th season.  Those priorities this season are health equity, LGBTQ+ advocacy with a focus on trans rights, and civic engagement.


“The WNBA’s commitment to equity, justice, diversity and inclusion is year-long, but this month is a special celebration of the LGBTQ+ community” said WNBA Commissioner Cathy Engelbert. “We also wanted to specifically voice our support of the trans community as our WNBA/WNBPA Social Justice Council continues to focus on rights for non-binary and trans people.  We are honored to collaborate with WNBA Changemaker Deloitte to continue to shine light on combatting inequities and promoting advocacy for LGBTQ+ rights.”


“We believe people can only achieve their full potential if they can be their authentic selves every single day. When we champion inclusivity, we give courage to those who need it and call upon the world to do better and be better. That is why we are so excited to join with the WNBA in celebrating Pride, this month, and all season long,” said Stacy Janiak, managing partner, chief growth officer, Deloitte LLP.


There will be 10 nationally televised games dedicated to Pride throughout the month of June across ABC, the CBS Television Network, ESPN and ESPN2.


WNBA Pride presented by Deloitte will tip off on Tuesday, June 1, with a double-header on ESPN networks as the two-time Defensive Player of the Year Brittney Griner and the Phoenix Mercury take on two-time WNBA All-Star Courtney Vandersloot and the Chicago Sky (8:30 p.m. ET, ESPN) followed by three-time WNBA All-Star Danielle Robinson and the Indiana Fever visiting the 2020 WNBA Finals MVP Breanna Stewart and the defending champions Seattle Storm (10:30 p.m. ET, ESPN2).