Dream General Manager Chris Sienko Named Team President


UNCASVILLE, CT APRIL 27: Connecticut Sun players pose for portraits at WNBA Media Day at Mohegan Sun on April 28, 2016 in Bristol Connecticut.  Copyright 2016 NBAE (Photo by Steven Freeman/NBAE via Getty Images)  

ATLANTA Atlanta Dream co-owners Mary Brock and Kelly Loeffler have announced that Chris Sienko’s role has been expanded to Team President and General Manager, effective immediately.“I am humbled and excited for the challenge of increasing the Dream’s visibility, aligning with our partners and building an organization the great City of Atlanta can be proud of,” Sienko said. “We had an amazing year on the court and we will do everything possible to build on the success and reach new fans.”Sienko was recently named 2018 WNBA Basketball Executive of the Year for his work with the Dream team. The 2018 squad won a franchise-record 23 regular season games and reached the WNBA Semifinals during the Playoffs. He was previously tabbed as a consultant for the organization, which led to the hiring of 2018 WNBA Coach of the Year Nicki Collen.                 

 “As we enter the Atlanta Dream’s twelfth season, we are proud to build on what the Dream brings to our city and in extending the basketball community with an exciting professional women’s team,” Brock and Loeffler said. “Not only does the Dream represent the best of basketball, but reflects the spirit of Atlanta’s diverse and inclusive community. We look forward to building on the success the Dream achieved in 2018.”A veteran of the WNBA, Sienko served as the Vice President, COO and General Manager of the Connecticut Sun for 14 seasons, taking over with the Mohegan Tribe purchase of the Orlando Miracle and relocation of the team to Connecticut on January 28, 2003.

During his tenure, Connecticut became the first profitable team in WNBA history and has maintained a positive revenue flow in every year since 2007. Sienko helped orchestrate 25 trades during his tenure and the Sun advanced to the postseason eight times, reaching the Eastern Conference Finals five times and the WNBA Finals twice. He hired head coaches Mike Thibault, Anne Donovan and Curt Miller.