Dream superstars Angel McCoughtry and Tiffany Hayes Make First Fan Returns of WNBA All-Star Voting

ATLANTA, July 5, 2018 – Former WNBA MVPsMaya Moore of the Minnesota Lynx and Elena Delle Donne of the Washington Mystics are the leading vote-getters after the first fan returns of WNBA All-Star Voting 2018 presented by Verizon.  The first 15 days of fan voting generated 37 percent more votes (489,583) than the same period in 2017 (357,882).


The 15th WNBA All-Star Game will take place on Saturday, July 28 at Target Center in Minneapolis.  ABC will televise the game live at 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT.


Under the revamped format for Verizon WNBA All-Star 2018, a pool of 22 All-Stars will be selected without regard for conference affiliation through voting by fans (40 percent of the vote), current WNBA players and head coaches (20 percent each), and a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters (20 percent).  The two All-Stars, regardless of conference, who receive the highest overall vote totals will serve as team captains and draft their respective rosters from the remaining pool of 20 All-Stars.